REVIEWS

 

  Reviewed 13 November 2016

Yr Hafod is a wonderful B&B for many reasons. John seems to have taken the pulse of travelers and answered all their concerns. Parking across the street is free. For a sense of security, there is the keyless entry pad. The ensuite twin was roomy, well lit and had an additional sink/counter in the bedroom. The bathroom is sumptuous. The room’s windows were insulated. The breakfast was speedy and ample, adaptable to special requests placed the day before. Nothing needed my travel screwdriver, wrench or needed paint repair. He was refurbishing a lounge, which will offer guests a great place to exchange stories and travel tips. We give it an A++ and wish more places were as good.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family

  Rooms
  Cleanliness
  Service

Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

We stay with John every year. It’s the little things that make a difference. It’s spectacularly clean, the towels smell of softener and not bleach, like at the big hotels. The rooms are very well appointed and cleaned daily. John is the icing on the cake, he’s very welcoming, helpful and funny and gets the balance of guest banter and service spot on. His breakfast is fresh, eggs are perfectly done and service is quick. If you get a room with a sea view, then be prepared to relax in comfy chairs and spend hours people watching and looking at the sea. Fab place.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family

  Reviewed 31 July 2016

As a single female traveller I was made welcome even before I arrived, quite literally during my telephone booking! John is a most welcoming host and in good supply of amusing banter! His guest house is superbly clean and comfortable with spectacular sea views, a delicious Welsh breakfast and an openness to assist in anything that might enhance your stay in the charming town of Aberystwyth. My single room was without an ensuite but the shared facilities were not only very well appointed but practically for my own use. The only question is, not where to stay, but for how long at Yr Havod?! Thank you for making my weekend, visiting my daughter’s recital at Musicfest, so relaxing, Jacquie

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view.
Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
  Sleep Quality
 Cleanliness
 Service

tripadvior scoreReviewed 28 July 2016

The wife and I booked into Yr Hafod for an overnight stay, while visiting friends and relatives. A very warm welcome from John and he outlined the times for breakfast – which turned out to be a full Welsh. The on suite room we had was excellent. Very clean, spotless and plenty of facility for making your own cups of tea. There was a huge walk in shower in the bathroom which was a delight. I think this is the best B and B I have had the pleasure of staying and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: You will enjoy your stay which ever room you stay in. Personally I would recommend any on suite room
Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
ta 5 dots Location
ta 5 dotsSleep Quality
ta 5 dotsService

  Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile
 Reviewed 28 August 2015

I booked this without researching it as I was glad to get last minute booking in August — HOWEVER .. I can not say strongly enough how much I would recommend this Guest House, It is the HIGHEST quality Accommodation, spotlessly clean , fresh and attractive.
The Location is perfect , on sea front , next to the castle walking distance to town.

All that said the Proprietor ‘John’ is fabulously hospitable , providing an excellent home from home establishment , with sociable , great humour and a font of knowledge ..

Go Visit this place – I guarantee you will love it and be another Repeat visitor.
There is ONLY one negative about my stay here – it was not long enough – HUGE THANKS JOHN ..Diolch yn fawr !!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo

   Sleep Quality
  Rooms
  Service